Tags

, , ,

For some reason, eating fruit on a daily basis was hard getting into my system. But I finally managed! After one year of trial and error, I finally completed this goal:

No. 41: Eat two portions of fruit every day for a month. Do this three times.

Last Friday, I finished my third month! It wasn’t completely flawless, but I decided it counts anyway. I’ll tell you why.

In the past few weeks, two things happened that were quite out of the ordinary. First, my cat past away. He had been my furry friend for 17 years, so I was completely crushed. Obviously, my mind was not focused on eating fruit. So I forgot. I remembered the next day however and decided I would compensate. I remembered I had had three portions of fruit the day before, so if I’d just eat one piece extra, I would be good.

Last week a more cheerful event happened: it was my birthday. I had been busy with all the preparations for the party the next day, entertaining my mother who came to visit me, eating pie together and in the evening celebrating with my theater group. Eating fruit was something I remembered in the middle of the night, when I came home. Or even the next day. I can’t remember.

Starting over was an option of course, but it would have been the most demotivating thing ever. My birthday was on October 8th, my month of fruit would end on October 9. Would I really fail one day before accomplishing my goal? I had to make a choice. Would I compensate again or would that be cheating?

Daily Fruit Intake 3 ~ Mission Accomplished | Fruit Challenge | 101 in 1001 | Day Zero Project | Changing habits for a better health

Compensating now meant eating two extra pieces of fruit instead of one. But it also meant I would stay motivated. And isn’t that what this goal was all about? To get myself motivated to eat fruit regularly? The whole month went so well. Even though I had been through a very rough time, I had faithfully kept on eating my fruit. This was a month to be proud of, not one to throw away as a failure.

So I compensated. I ate four pieces of fruit on October 9th. Maybe even more. I lost count. Because on October 9th, something happened that will make eating fruit a piece of cake in the future (pun intended). I got a juicer for my birthday. I can now make my own juice out of every fruit (or vegetable!) imaginable. I already made apple-pear juice, strawberry juice, melon juice, strawberry-melon juice, carrot juice and carrot-apple juice. In three days’ time! That’s the influence on my health that I needed! Up until now the carrot-apple juice is my favorite. I can’t wait to try out more juices.

I hope these three months of eating fruit have made it a habit by now. Time will tell. I think I will have to keep reminding myself to eat fruit. I tend to forget that we have fruit, or that I actually like the taste of it. The juicer will definitely help though! And the fact that I really want to do this, because I want to be a healthier version of myself.

If you’d like to help me maintain my new habit, please share your favorite juicer combination with me in the comments!

