Tags

, , , ,

Two weeks ago I shared with you how my food addiction was taking over and how I gained weight instead of losing it. The reactions on that article were overwhelming! So many of you have commented, either underneath the article, by a personal message on Facebook and some of you even in real life. So many people have tried to help me in their own personal way. Some of you shared your own weight loss struggles with me, some of you shared healthy recipes with me, I’ve been given the contact information of a diet consultant and there’s even coming a detox cleansing kit my way all the way from the other side of the world. All combined you have talked with me for hours about my struggle, my obstacles and how to overcome them.

Twinkly Tanya: Losing Weight ~ Back on Track | Weight Loss Journey | About how I got back on track after gaining weight

Thank you all. I cannot express how much this has helped me to get back on track. All these talks, comments and advices showed me that you care. But maybe even more importantly, it showed me that I don’t have to do this all by myself. I’m not alone. That is priceless in a struggle as hard as this one. I now know that although I might stray from my path sometimes, there will always be someone to lead me back. As long as I just let you know that I am lost. And this help may even come from people I won’t expect it from. They might not be my closest friends, they might not live around the corner or even know me in person at all. That is a truly special revelation. It has strengthened me enormously the past two weeks.

I am not completely where I want to be yet. Not only in weight, but also in my behavior. I still had my week moments where I teared open a pack of cookies and mindlessly ate them all. But I felt the strength to fight back again. Maybe not at that particular weak moment, but shortly after I would regain myself and follow the right path again.

I have created a food diary, I tried to replace unhealthy snacks with fruits or vegetables, I tried to balance my meals better and I replaced my diet coke for mint or cucumber water. And I seriously tried to cut back on snacking, in which I succeed more and more each day. Last week I could not eat one snack without setting of a chain of unhealthy foods ending up in my mouth. Yesterday I bought Peanut Butter Oreos (which was a limited edition here in the Netherlands, so it was now or never) and I locked them in my pantry at least until the weekend. Up until now I am keeping this promise.

I feel better again. Physically I feel thinner, mentally I feel stronger. And overall I feel healthier and therefore more satisfied. And the numbers agree with me. Today The Scale told me my weight was 104.5 kg (229.9 lbs), which means these past two weeks I’ve lost 1,2 kg (2.6 lbs)! Normally this would be what I’d lose in a month!

So I’m getting optimistic again. I’ve managed to turn the tide. Now I just need to keep up with it. This is not the easiest part of losing weight, it might even be the hardest. But I’m determined again.  I want to lose this weight. I want to become a healthy young woman. I’ve still got a long road ahead of me, but at least I’m on that road again.

