Tags

, , ,

Do you recognize this? You move into a new house and you have all these wonderful plans of how to make it a home. Enthusiastically you start painting walls, placing new floors and re-upholster the stairs. You’re completely in the zone. But after a few months of living in your new home, you cannot find this zone anymore. The house is livable, so all the tasks left don’t feel so urgent anymore. They’re mere details. They can be done at any time.

Slowly you start forgetting about these details. For some people these unfinished things really are small details, such as a room that still needs a fresh pair of curtains. For other people it might be a bigger project still waiting to be finished, such as a kitchen that needs to be remodeled.

For me it was combination of both. Although I already live in this house for three years now, sometimes it still feels like I’ve just moved in. The attic is full of unpacked boxes, one room isn’t even painted and doesn’t have a floor either, theres a room full of furniture waiting to be refurbished, I don’t have a closet to hang my clothes in, there’s no art hanging on my walls, almost no picture to be found anywhere, some rooms still have light bulbs hanging from the ceiling instead of proper lamps, just to name a few things. I hate it. But at the same time I’ll have to accept it, because since I’m chronically fatigued I can only do so much each day.

I figured I’d only have to accept this to a certain point, though. So I turned a lot of these project into goals for my Day Zero Project. I’ll accept that I cannot do all these things within a few weeks like regular people, but at least I want to able to finish them within 1001 days. And yesterday, I finally finished another goal in the home department! It may be a simple goal, but it’s a goal that makes me very happy:

No. 55: Buy a nice ceiling lamp for the bedroom and hang it.

Our bedroom didn’t have a proper lamp. Not one hanging from the ceiling at least. There was just this stupid light bulb. But not anymore! I finally bought a lamp and I love it so much! Yesterday Ruud hang it. And that made us discover something.

Tanya's 101 ~ And Then There Was Light... | A new ceiling lamp for the bedroom

The lampshade I bought isn’t actually a ceiling lamp. It’s supposed to be a lampshade for a foot. There’s a difference between those, who would have thought? I never knew! As a result our lampshade is hanging way to high and our lightbulb is visible underneath. Not entirely what I had expected…

Still, I believe I have succeeded in fulfilling my goal. I will search for a new lampshade and turn the one I have into the floor lamp it’s supposed to be. But that’s just a matter of changing lampshades. For now I’ll just enjoy the fact that I don’t have to look at a lightbulb anymore when laying in bed. Even though it looks a bit weird, it’s still so much better than what it was before! It’s a lamp, a proper lamp, a pretty lamp even and it hangs. I say that counts!

