Tags

, , , , , ,

As you may know by now I am trying to lose a lot of weight. I’m not doing it overnight, it’s a long-term plan. In order to be able to even slightly succeed, I had to find ways to make this weight loss journey interesting and pleasant. And I found something that makes me lose weight and gets me to try out all kinds of delicious new recipes: eating low-carb!

Tanya's 101 ~ Recipe: The Perfect Banana Pancakes  | Low-Carb, Gluten-Free, Paleo | A perfect lunch recipe to lose weight

It’s really amazing how a meal without carbs influences your weight the day after. And it’s not hard at all to eat low-carb. I mean, you get to eat cheese till you drop. What’s not to like?

I do have a couple of favorite recipes I’d like to share with you on this blog. Some recipes I have found online and tweaked a little, some I have invented myself. The first recipe I have shared with you some time already, it was the lunch recipe Yolky Cupcakes.

Today I will share my favorite breakfast recipe: Banana Pancakes. The don’t contain flour, so they are low-carb, gluten-free and paleo. But the most important thing: the are to die for. There are many recipes for banana cake on the internet. I could just link you to one of them and be done with it. But I’ve learned some pretty valuable lessons in my attempts to make them. So I will share the recipe with you and in addition some of my golden tips I discovered along the way.

Recipe: Banana Pancakes

Tanya's 101 ~ Recipe: The Perfect Banana Pancakes  | Low-Carb, Gluten-Free, Paleo | A perfect lunch recipe to lose weight

Ingredients (1 person)

  • 1 Banana
  • 2 Eggs
  • Cinnamon
  • Rape seed oil (other oil or butter works too, but I have found the best results with this)

That’s all!

Instructions

  1. Crack the eggs over a bowl.
  2. Add banana slices.
  3. Add cinnamon to taste. In my case, that’s a whole lot of cinnamon. You can never have too much cinnamon in a dish!
  4. Use a hand blender to create a smooth mixture. Any blender would work probably, but I always use this one. If you don’t have a blender, carefully mash the banana before adding it to the bowl. Then mix them with a whisk.
  5. Add oil to a pan. Put the pan on medium heat.
  6. Pour the mixture into the pan. Make small pancakes, about 12 cm (4,5 inch) in diameter.
  7. When you see that the pancakes have thickened, use a spatula to turn them.
  8. Bake for another minute and serve!

Golden tips

Tanya's 101 ~ Recipe: The Perfect Banana Pancakes  | Low-Carb, Gluten-Free, Paleo | A perfect lunch recipe to lose weight

Because there’s no flour in these pancakes, they will burn and break more easily than regular pancakes. But if you follow these golden tips, you will be able to bake perfect pancakes in no time!

  1. Your banana’s should not be overripe. This is not a rule. They can be overripe and they will taste awesome. But they will also break more easily, so if you’re new to this recipe, you’d better use some firm bananas.
  2. Use oil instead of butter. I used to make these pancakes with butter, which worked fine. But one day I ran out of it and I had to use oil instead. Oh my god, what a change! The pancakes were more golden than ever before and they seemed firmer as well! Make sure you’ll use a neutral oil. Olive oil will taste weird, I guess.
  3. Put your pan on medium heat. If you’ll turn the heat any higher, your pancakes will burn. Guaranteed. So don’t be hasty, medium heat is the way to go!
  4. Make small pancakes. You can’t make them big, because you won’t be able to turn them, since they will break. About 12 cm (4,5 inch) is the perfect size. Smaller is okay, but try to not make them bigger than that.

Serving suggestions

These pancakes are super delicious on its own. They are so sweet and so soft, they don’t need any addition to let you have a very fulfilling breakfast. But if you would like to add something, I would recommend the following toppings:

  • Syrup: Be careful though. Most syrups contain loads of sugar and therefore carbs. They won’t help you lose weight at all. But there are some low-carb syrups you can buy. I have yet to find one, so if you’ve got any tips for low-carb syrups available in the Netherlands, please let me know in the comments. Right now I’m guilty of eating my last batch of pancakes with a little bit of high-carb Butterscotch Syrup. Oops!
  • Marmalade: Again, be careful. Regular marmalade contains way too much sugar. But you can find some pretty tasty marmalades out there without any added sugar. It’s all fruit! Go for those! My favorite so far is the blueberry fruit spread (Fruitbeleg) from the blueberry farm Blue Berrie Hill. If you live in the Netherlands, go get this awesome spread! The pancakes will taste a little less sweet and more fruity. It’s really great!
  • Fresh fruit: Probably the best way to go! Of course you could add some fresh banana on your pancakes, but other fruit works really well too! What too think of strawberries, raspberries, or blueberries? I have tried the blueberries. Not only as a topping, I even put them into the mixture! Make sure you add your berries after you’ve poured the mixture into the pan, otherwise you will either get way too many berries in your pancakes or none at all. The heat will make them burst, which adds a really nice mildly sour flavor to your pancakes. Don’t they look delish?
  • Nuts: If you’d like your pancakes a bit more savory, add nuts! Any nuts will be perfect!

If you’ve decided to try out this recipe, please let me know how you liked it in the comments!

