Tags

, ,

I knew the past month would become a true challenge in my weight loss challenge. First of all it was the month after I had gained weight for the first time since the start of my challenge. Renewing my strength after a moment of failure isn’t my strongest skill usually. But besides that, May would also be a very busy month with lots of rehearsal weekends for the play and also the actual performance weekend. Cooking would not be an option on many days. An ordering in or eating out doesn’t usually make you thinner.

But I was determined at least not to gain weight. I decided I would be happy if I was at least able to keep the same weight as the end of April, which was 104,7 kg (230,3 lbs).

Tanya's 101 ~ Losing Weight - Low-Carb Lunchtime | Losing weight by eating low-carb/paleo

So I made a plan. If I would eat unhealthy meals on most weekends, it would mean I’d have to compensate on at least as many other days. So I tried eating as many low-carb meals as I could.

Lunch was the best time of the day for me to eat low-carb. In the morning, I don’t feel like putting a lot of effort in my breakfast mostly, because I am still a bit sleepy and I don’t want to lose a lot of time before starting my day. In the evenings I often don’t have time to spend a lot of time in the kitchen, because I often have to be somewhere early in the evening. But in the afternoon, I can take all the time that I need.

Tanya's 101 ~ Losing Weight - Low-Carb Lunchtime | Losing weight by eating low-carb/paleo

So I tried a lot of different low-carb lunch recipes. I cooked all kinds of egg recipes, banana pancakes (YUM!) and hamburgers in lettuce ‘buns’. And you know what? I loved it! I didn’t miss bread for a second. Bread is boring! Low-carb meals are so inspiring. And I can eat so many things I love. My lunches are filled with eggs, ham/bacon and cheese. Cheese, people! I’m talking feta, mozzarella, cheddar and pecorino here!

Its so much fun creating these inspiring meals. I even started to create my own recipes. The first one, Yolky Cupcakes, I posted on this blog a few weeks ago.

And once I got the hang of it, I also started to cook low-carb dinners. Not everyday, but at least once or twice a week. It turns out that it doesn’t have to consume all of your precious time, like I thought before. Some recipes are even simpler than cooking pasta.

Tanya's 101 ~ Losing Weight - Low-Carb Lunchtime | Losing weight by eating low-carb/paleo

And my dedication paid off! This morning, my weight was 103,6 kg (227,9 lbs). That’s 1,1 kg (2,4 lbs) lighter than last month! With weekends filled with pizzas and fries!

So I think it’s fair to say I found my mojo back. And it can only become easier from now on. With the play being over, I can now eat healthy in weekends as well. So June, here I come!

