Tags

, ,

January was a good month. Goal-wise I mean. And not because of some New Year’s resolutions. No, because of something way better: My 101 in 1001 list. What I had hoped for, is really the case: This list gives me purpose. It makes me do things I always wanted to but never did. It demolishes the walls I have always bumped into before. In the first few months, I started a lot of long-term goals. But in January, I decided I wanted to actually complete some missions. So I worked on some short-term ones. I especially thrived in the health section and the cooking department. Are you curious about the things I have accomplished last month? Let’s have a look then!

Goal nr. 34: Own a ‘Wreck this Journal’ and complete all the tasks in the book.
Progress has been made! Not a lot, but I worked on a few pages. Note to self: I should really write an update about the pages I did in this book. After all, I’ve completed a lot of these since my first update.

Goal nr. 35: Own either the diary ‘One line a day’ or ‘Q&A a day: a 5 year journal’ and write in it every day.
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
As you may have read last month, I chose the diary ‘Q&A a day’. I bought it as a gift for myself just before New Year’s Eve. I even let the shop assistant wrap it for me. I really like the fact that it’s not a complete blank book, but I’m supposed to think about a certain topic each day. I’m curious to see how my opinions will change (or stay the same) over the years. And yes, I was a good girl and wrote in it every day up until now!

Goal nr. 36: Take a selfie every month.
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
I took a selfie to show you my new bangs, but this time combined with my regular straight hairstyle. Four selfies taken, 29 to go!

Goal nr. 40: Lose 30 kilos (66 lbs).
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
This is the goal I’m most proud of at the moment. From the day I started, three months ago, I’ve lost 5,8 kg! Isn’t that amazing? After years of failure in dieting, I finally seem to succeed! Of course there’s still a long way to go, but I nearly lost 20% already now. That a lot! And all because of this list… It’s unbelievable.

Goal nr. 42: Don’t eat sweet or salty snacks and sweet desserts for a month. Do this three times.
I’ve started on January 14. And I’m proud to say I didn’t eat any of the above since. What I find most remarkable, is that it’s not nearly as difficult as I thought it would be! But again, I know this list gives me the discipline. Without it, I would have craved for all the sweetness multiple times for sure. The hardest part is still to come though; Next week I will attend two birthday parties. I expect a biblical snake to follow my every move there, telling me I should definitely fill myself with cake and sweetness. I hope I’m able to fight him off!

Goal nr. 44: Don’t drink soda for two weeks in a row.
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
I was addicted to coke. Diet coke in my defense, but still… So obviously I thought these two weeks would be hell. But not only did I managed to refrain from soda during this period, I still haven’t drunk any soda after! Okay, I tasted a small glass of coke after I had accomplished my goal. But as I told you in this post, I didn’t even like it that much anymore. I’m a water junk now.

Goal nr. 45: Drink a jug of water every day for a month.
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
This goal certainly helped me through those cokeless weeks. After all, if you drink water, you can’t drink something else at the same time! There was only one problem with this goal. I have never liked the taste of water. My solution: Putting slices of fruit or vegetables in the water to improve its taste. My favorite now is cucumber water! You can read more about this goal here.

Goal nr. 60: Get a funeral insurance.
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
I’ve been told that it’s not common in every country to have a funeral insurance. But in The Netherlands it is. Of course, there’s also the option to save up for it myself. But I would be afraid of using this money for something else at a certain point. You know, because cars get broken, mortgages have to be paid, kids want to study… I figured my money would be safer if it was somewhere out of my reach. I wanted to get this insurance for years (12 years to be exact…), but I was never able to choose one for some reason. But last month, I finally got my insurance!

Goal nr. 63: Make sushi
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
My fear of failing has held me back from trying to make sushi for years. I figured failing at it would be better then not trying at all. Who expected me to be a true sushi chef on my first attempt, anyway? Only me, I suppose. Well, not anymore, because I conquered my sushi making fears in January!

Goal nr. 64: Make hummus
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
Dipping raw vegetables in hummus, omnomnom! I absolutely love this snack! Eating this helps me to lose weight and to lower my need for chocolate or potato chips. But you know what tastes even better than hummus? Right! Home-made hummus! In January I tried to do this. And I must say, it’s actually very easy! You can try it yourself, if you follow the recipe in this blog article.

Goal nr. 69: Try out 10 new recipes from 10 different cookbooks.
Tanya's 101 ~ Third Month of the Day Zero Project. Goals accomplished this month: 5. Total goals accomplished: 6.
I tried out three recipes: Banana fig smoothie, Chestnut turkey and Oven baked turkey and ham. I didn’t care so much for the Chestnut turkey. But the banana fig smoothie and the oven baked turkey were absolutely awesome!

Goal nr. 77: Watch 101 movies.
I accomplished 9% of this goal. In January, I’ve watched the movies Toy Story and The Grand Budapest Hotel, which you can read all about in this post.

Does this mean last month was full of success stories? No, unfortunately I also failed at some goals. As you may remember from December’s monthly update, I wanted to keep a checkbook. And I did, for one week… After that, I forgot to write my expenses down. I also tried to eat two pieces of fruit every day. Several times. Because I never manage to remember to do this for more than a week. Fortunately, I still have the time to make up for these goals. And let’s not forget, I have accomplished 5 of my goals! If I keep progressing like I did last month, I will be able to complete my entire list with ease! So February, here I come!

