Tags

, , , , , ,

In movies and TV series, people are always invited to costume parties. They look like a lot of fun. I wouldn’t really know, because I never get invited to one of those. Until last weekend. My best friend and her boyfriend celebrated both their birthdays by hosting one kick-ass costume party! Everyone was told to dress up as their favorite TV character. Finally I got to dress up, yay!

Tanya's 101 - "Transforming myself into Bernadette from the Big Bang Theory for a costume party."

Source: de.bigbangtheory.wikia.com

But which character would I choose? I wanted it to be someone from a series or show I really like, but wouldn’t it be awesome if it was also someone I resembled? That’s a really hard thing to do, because you know, I’m such a unique person and all…

I decided it was best to choose someone with very distinctive features. That way I wouldn’t really have to look like her, but it would still be obvious who I was trying to impersonate. There was only one logical choice for me: Bernadette from the Big Bang Theory! I absolutely love her! She’s so cute and adorable, and yet so tough.

There were just two small problems… Bernadette has curls and I don’t. And she has bangs, I don’t. The curls weren’t so hard to create for one evening, but bangs… Well, they are kinda permanent. Would I really want to go this far, to get myself a totally new hairstyle just for a costume party?

Yes! Or actually no. Of course I didn’t cut my hair just for the party. Tanya's 101 - "Transforming myself into Bernadette from the Big Bang Theory for a costume party."The party simply inspired me to do so. I realized my hairstyle has been the same for years now and decided change is good once in a while. And besides, bangs aren’t that drastic. If I would really hate it, I could always grow my hair back. In the meantime, my forehead will stay nice and warm this winter.

So what do you think of the outcome? You can hardly tell who’s who, right? Thanks to my great hairdresser! I loved having curls for one night. Maybe I just have to learn how to create them myself. And the bangs? Well, I must admit, I really had to get used to them at first. I doubted if I still looked adult enough. Maybe that’s because the last time I had bangs, I was 11 years old. But now, after a few days, the bangs really started growing on me. Not literally of course, that would be weird. But I like them! Even with straight hair! But that’s something I’ll show you in my January selfie.

If you are wondering if Ruud and I went to the party in couple’s costumes, I’ll have to disappoint you. Ruud just doesn’t resemble Howard in any way. He impersonated a stunning Rene from ‘Allo ‘Allo though.

Tanya's 101 - "Transforming myself into Bernadette from the Big Bang Theory for a costume party."

Picture by Rob Joseph

However, I did meet my friend Amy at the party! She’s such a nice person in real life!

Tanya's 101 - "Transforming myself into Bernadette from the Big Bang Theory for a costume party. Amy was also there!"

Picture by Rob Joseph

So, please don’t hesitate to tell me what you think in the comment section below. What do you think of my Bernadette look?

